Reviews

What people are saying about The White Lion Hotel




Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and friendly staff.Comfortable stay with excellent breakast . Good pub food menu for our evening meal. This is a very well run hotel.Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs T | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 1 week ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel with excellent food and very pleasant and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Michael J | Sat 1st Dec 2018 | 1 week ago


Comfortble- Rating 4/5

Friendly Hotel in a good location, Breakfast was also goodroom ok

Reviewer:George T | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Welsh Wonder - Rating 5/5

Our stay at The White Lion Hotel was great, good food, pleasant staff, comfortable room and real fires in the Bar.

Reviewer:Jackie E | Tue 20th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Excellent service and clean room - Rating 5/5

Welcome was very warm and nice. The room was clean with fresh towels and shower gel. Recommend!

Reviewer:Benjamin G | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Recommended- Rating 5/5

Staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was tidy and comfortable, the food was excellent. Will definitely be staying again when we're in the area

Reviewer:Katherine C | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Amazing Hosts - Rating 5/5

Two of our operatives needed accommodation as they were working near by. They informed us that the staff were amazing, and as they left very early every morning and missed breakfast, they were provided with a packed lunch without having asked for it. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Michael J | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Just the job. - Rating 4/5

The White Lion Hotel was very close to where we wanted and very reasonable. We were in a double room with shared bathroom, although we never saw anyone else use it. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The breakfast was spectacular, with so much choice and so much if it. The price of the two night stay was really good value.

Reviewer:Richard C | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


We Had Nice Time - Rating 4/5

Happy with the roomFOOD GOODBEER goodGOOD LOCATIONWHAT MORE DO YOU WANT

Reviewer:Michael S | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


White Lion always a pleasure - Rating 5/5

I always enjoy staying at the White Lion Machynlleth during the annual Festival (Gwyl.The room was very comfortable and the sound of the bells from the Clock Tower is soothing at night. Thank you John and your team.

Reviewer:Malcolm S | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Good place to stay traveling towards Snowdonia - Rating 3/5

We stayed here for one night with our children and our dog in two rooms. Rooms were comfortable, good service and dog friendly

Reviewer:Peter van B | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


White Lion Hotel - A very pleasant family run hotel - Rating 5/5

The White Lion is located within a few minutes walk of the railway station and is in the centre of Macynlleth. The twin room I had, although not on-suite was directly opposite the bath and shower rooms and had all the facilities I needed for my 2 night stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bar is lively with a pleasant atmosphere. The breakfast set me up for the day and all the staff are very pleasant, professional and keen to ensure the guests are made to feel welcome. I would certainly recommend the White Lion Hotel and look forward to staying there in the future.

Reviewer:Ramon C | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Booked last minute, called and spoke to someone to check everything was ok for us as we were arriving after 10pm. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly and they allow dogs in the bar meaning we could have a drink before closing with our dog with us. Every member of staff was fantastic with our dog and genuinely offers great service. Rooms had everything needed and are good value

Reviewer:Ryan D | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Weekend to see family - Rating 5/5

Me and my partner always book to stay at the Lion when wr com to see my family.The rooms are lovely and comfy and the breakfast always goes down a treat.Staff are friendly and tge overall atmsphere is too.

Reviewer:Cheryl B | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Rustic Welsh Warmth - Rating 5/5

Great value and friendly staff. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.Perth, Western Australia.

Reviewer:Alan M | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff

Reviewer:Glyn J | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Always a pleasure - Rating 5/5

I stay at the White Lion every summer during the Festival. It's always a pleasure to be there and I thank the staff for their help and excellent service.

Reviewer:Dr J M S | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Fantastic hotel, lovely food will definately be back

Reviewer:Gareth B | Sat 19th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


very good value best breakfast we have had in any hotel or b&b - Rating 5/5

very good accommodation and the choice for breakfast was exceptional.The management and staff were very welcoming and helpfull .This place to stay is highly recommended

Reviewer:John E | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Room was clean, breakfast was good and had a decent meal in the pub. Very good value

Reviewer:David D | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great return visit - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay here. Room was a good size, bed very comfy, and the food and service were fantastic. Will be looking at staying here again in the future!

Reviewer:Sam H | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Accomodation while walking Glyndwyr\'s Way - Rating 4/5

Welcoming, good food and excellent beer.Ensuite room was comfortable, if a little hot even with the window open.Would have preferred a quieter area to eat in the evening - away from the large screen TV with football showing.Good stay.

Reviewer:Sheena J | Fri 16th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Very nice Hotel good location excellent food

Reviewer:Ian H | Tue 6th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


The White Lion Machynlledd. - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the White Lion. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, good pub food and an excellent breakfast. Overall a lovely stay and highly recommend.

Reviewer:Carol M | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


White Lion Hotel Mach Loop - Rating 4/5

Clean, warm and comfortable, very friendly staff. Food was lovely. Rooms a bit dated. Ideal to recharge the batteries after a day in the Hills. Would stay again

Reviewer:allan s | Thu 4th May 2017 | 1 year ago


50th AnniversaryBreak- Rating 5/5

What a brilliant place!Staff were great,nothing was to much trouble and as for the food, evening and breakfast was excellentThe choice of ales and wine was pretty good to. (Thank you)

Reviewer:Graham A | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


One night at White Lion Hotel - Rating 3/5

Fabulous breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewer:lynn j | Sun 26th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and clean with a lovely welcome - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night en route to the Talyllyn Railway. Room was clean and well presented and had everything we needed. Didn't manage to make the TV work, but that's probably user error! A really friendly welcome in the bar downstairs, and some really nicely kept real ales on. Breakfast was excellent too. Recommended.

Reviewer:David R | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent value- Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money. Clean and comfortable room. Listed as a small double but was still a good size. Really comfortable bed too. Friendly staff and made to feel welcome.We had an excellent evening meal at the restaurant.The following morning breakfast was delicious.Highly recommend. Thanks

Reviewer:Hannah O | Wed 18th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Economical- Rating 3/5

Worth the money for a room for 3, including a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Angela W | Fri 13th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Overal - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent value and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Anita R | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Smashing - Rating 5/5

Warm and comfortable room with everything we needed,a good beakfast and lovely helpful staff. And a great pub! Thank you.

Reviewer:Ms. Ros N | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


White Lion hotel - Rating 5/5

I was very pleased with my stay at the White Lion Hotel, friendly staff, comfortable room, good food & beer, very pleased would stay again.

Reviewer:Stephen E | Wed 7th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


work stay - Rating 5/5

Good stay. Thanks for everything

Reviewer:Mr. Christine M | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Room very comfortable and clean and breakfast amazing!!

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


aangenaam - Rating 4/5

vriendelijk en gezellig

Reviewer:Marleen Haring Ev S | Thu 6th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A short break in Machynlleth. - Rating 4/5

Good central location.Close to railway station and bus stops.Quiet and clean rooms,well equipped with wi-fi and tea making facilities.Friendly and helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Graham M | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely pub great atmosphere was a bit worried about staying above a pub but bedrooms were well away didn't hear a thing very comfy bed brilliant shower and the breakfast wow didn't need anything else to eat till tea time really nice and friendly would definitely stay again really good value for money

Reviewer:Sharon J | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Sports Event - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay, staff could not have been better. A very friendly pub at night everyone speaking to each other.Excellent food, will certainly be back next year.

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Homely and friendly - Rating 4/5

This is our favourite stopover on our journeys to North Wales. Located in town centre it has a very relaxed atmosphere, with friendly service from all staff. Lovely room en suite, comfy bed, and good choice of breakfast. Also enjoyed a tasty evening meal.Plenty of car parking. A bit more covered space for smokers would be welcome though!

Reviewer:Daniel T | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


white lion - Rating 4/5

comfortable clean and good breakfast. food in the bar very good and nice pleasant surroundings

Reviewer:Michael R | Thu 8th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Review - Rating 3/5

Comfortable, clean room, lovely breakfast, staff very polite and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona F | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay- Rating 5/5

Th White Lion was as always a very pleasant place to stay. The room was quiet, staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Thank you.

Reviewer:Dr. MalcolmSPENCER| Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Bon rapport qualité prix - Rating 4/5

Charmant, confortable et calme, chambre peut-être juste un peu petite.

Reviewer:Morgane L | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Well satisfied - Rating 4/5

All very comfortable,keen and able staff,excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:David P | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


White Lion Hotel - Rating 4/5

Only stayed for one night, wish it could have been more.Nice room with a very comfortable bed.Lovely evening meal and a very satisfying and tasty breakfast.Look forward to visiting again.

Reviewer:Tracy M | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay. - Rating 4/5

We booked a family room for a one night stay at The White Lion, we arrived just in time for an evening meal in the bar. We had the sausage and mash which was very substantial and tasty. Our room was pleasantly decorated and included tea and coffee making facilities. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and welcoming. The building is very old and characterful. All in all we had a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price. Well done to all.

Reviewer:Vincent H | Sat 13th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed here in the family room which is very well appointed----a double roomand seperate single room joined by a bathroom. The decor was lively, rooms clean and beds comfortable situated in a nice market town. The breakfast was excellent.Despite being a lively and popular pub(a bonus in my view) it was quiet in the bedroom.It was amazing value for money.

Reviewer:Johanna C | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


good hotel - Rating 4/5

had a good 2 night stay,lively local pub with great food,breakfast and evening meal.Rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable.Staff were friendly and efficient.Would deffinately stay here again if going to the area again

Reviewer:Robert G | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Good value - Rating 5/5

Rooms are comfortable and spacious.Breakfasts are delicious and filling.Staff are friiendly and prompt.Service is excellent. Great atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mr. Carl G | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Happy customer - Rating 4/5

We arrived 2 hours early and our room was ready. It was a medium sized room with antique furniture and the bathroom was good sized with shower cubicle. It is a very old pub with uneven walls and creaky floor but was clean and the double bed was very comfortable. The TV was small and wall mounted but quite adequate. The hospitality tray was well stocked. Unlike other people I got Wi-fi immediately and once set up it was there each time I returned. The food was good pub food, hot and plentiful both at breakfast and dinner. The chips were lovely and the poached eggs were well cooked with runny yolk. The beer and lager was cold and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pub is in a prime position on the main street and the market on Wednesday was really good. We were out just after 7am getting a newspaper and the stall holders were just arriving and setting up their own stalls... not like in my local market town where the council do the job. Every day of our 4 day stay the pub was full. We have never seen a pub with so many customers whether at lunchtime, mid afternoon or evening. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Ann M | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay here on my first trip to Wales.

Reviewer:Sam H | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend stay- Rating 4/5

Very nice stay I will be booking again soon a very good experience

Reviewer:Mr. Donald L | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


THE STAFF HERE ARE REALLY LOVELY - Rating 4/5

We actually turned to the White Lion because the accommodation we'd arranged elsewhere suddenly upped their charge hugely at the last minute.The White Lion gives good value for the price, and do everything they can to make your stay comfortable in a very old house.

Reviewer:Jackie U | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

Perfect room for 3 - a double & separate single, giving some privacy. Good breakfast. Excellent calue for money

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane W | Fri 8th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


great food - Rating 4/5

LOVELY STAY in a clean modest room. Breakfast very good, very big. Supper on two evenings excellent. Good beer and wine. staff pleasent

Reviewer:Mr. stephen t | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Good B&B but not much in town - Rating 4/5

The room was decent and the breakfast excellent. There is free parking and it is well placed for onward travel.Down sides include the lack of anything to do in town and pubs may not be the best entertainment for toddlers. However we knew that when we booked.Well worth a stay if you are passing.

Reviewer:Paul W | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


TRAVLERS IN WALES - Rating 5/5

We had a great time !!...make sure you get the Trout EXCELLENT !! LISTEN TO YOUR WAITRESS, SHE KNOWS.THE BATHROOMS WERE GREAT, CLEAN AND LOTS OF WARM WATER AND VERY PRETTY...LOVED THE FISH PULL.WE SLEPT GREAT , THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL AND THE DRINKS, SPOT ONTHANK YOU. WE WILL COME BACK.

Reviewer:Ms. Maureen M | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Second stay and i\'ll be back for more- Rating 5/5

I have now stayed at this little gem on two occasions. The rooms are always warm and clean with good provisions. On both occasions I have had a cracking night’s sleep. There is plenty of secure parking. But the real gem in the pub below, I’m early to bed and there has not been an issue with noise. The bar has a great selection of ales which are perfectly looked after and served. The menu is fantastic value for homemade lovely food with good portion size. The chips are just like my Nan used to make. The breakfast is top draw and I having been served by a number of different staff in the mornings and evenings and all have been lovely. All in all, the perfect little place for a night or two. I’ll be back again and as I stay in the area every four weeks can’t see me going anywhere else. Just hope not to many catch on to this place so I always get a room.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee S | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely, friendly place. Food excellent, rooms clean what else could you want?

Reviewer:Andrew D | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


A+ - Rating 5/5

very nice and comfortable, TIDY

Reviewer:Malwina C | Thu 2nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

very good stay.good food.very helpful staff.nice big room.a must for travellers .thanks marty

Reviewer:Martin K | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Clean and comfortable - Rating 4/5

On the spur of the moment my wife said that she would like to visit the market at Machynlleth and as it is some distance from home we thought it a good idea to put up for one night. We looked at Booking.com who picked a several local places and as we have eaten at the White Lion on a number of occasions in the past we decided on that option.Good choice. Our room was spotless and comfortable and we would have no hesitation in booking again in future. Breakfast also was excellent. Only down was the steep and endless stairs but for anyone agile not a problem.Sadly it rained for out walk around the market but that is another story.

Reviewer:Robert A | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Cannot really fault our stay.Room clean and comfortable (taking into account this is a country pub.) On suite,Excellent food,breakfasts to evening meals ..Friendly staff,and enjoyable atmosphere.Owners Michelle and Alan,friendly and attentive, even sending us a card for our wedding anniversary, from all staff.Easy to find, Good parking, and lovely town.Would certainly visit again, and can heartilyrecommend.

Reviewer:Derek H | Mon 16th May 2016 | 2 years ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

we only stayed one nightand we found everyone at the hotel very welcoming room was clean and warm.and the breakfast in the morning was very good.would stay there again if in the area.

Reviewer:Felicity K | Sat 2nd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely modern, spacious room - Rating 3/5

The bedroom was an unexpectedly nice surprise and the food good in the bar area.

Reviewer:Monica K | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Short Break - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming establishment, good beer, cider and food, cosy room very convenient place to stop while we visited the centre of alternative technology. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Sue A | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very clean warm and comfortable good food sourced locally nice walks and very good hospitality wiil be revisiting

Reviewer:Mark K | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Stay at the White Lion Hotel! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently stayed at the White Lion Hotel and had a fantastic time. We would just like to say that in addition to the warm and welcoming Hotel itself, the management and staff were just amazing! We are both Vegan and Gluten free and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel actually took time to research and source suitable food for us, this also included meeting the Chef and discussing items and ingredients. Honestly, nothing was too much trouble for them and they are all worthy of the highest praise, indeed one would be hard pressed to find better customer service anywhere! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Terence H | Mon 25th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendlyand helpful service. - Rating 5/5

Good friendly service at a small town hotel, more like an Inn.Good beer and food with quick service.Excellent cooked breakfast.

Reviewer:Tom I | Mon 18th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


quiet, friendly and comfortable room and bed - Rating 5/5

What else can I say? Everyone was super nice and friendly, the rooms were quiet and warm.

Reviewer:Jonathan P | Wed 13th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


The White Lion, Machynlleth - Rating 5/5

We had room 10 the luxury en-suite. Lovely room and clean with welcoming luxury biscuits. Staff were helpful and polite. The heating broke down but it was dealt with effectively considering as it was New Years Eve.Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order.Overall a delightful place to stay and eat.

Reviewer:Mr. jason o | Mon 4th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Late booking - Rating 5/5

Last minute late booking on line due to keys being lost....very welcoming...excellent

Reviewer:Jacob B | Fri 11th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent value ...- Rating 5/5

I can seriously recommend this hotel ... It's a traditional hotel ! Great bar.... Loved fire in the winter ... Bedrooms are comfortable and so are the beds....

Reviewer:Simon B | Sat 28th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely comfortable place - Rating 4/5

Last minute booking to stay somewhere in Mach for one night.Chosen at random really.Really welcoming staff and comfortable looking bar/dining area.Our room was very warm and comfortable - plenty of clean towels and the bathroom was spotless. An excellent cooked breakfast on the Sunday - beautiful sausages! Thanks for a lovely night!

Reviewer:Jonathan E | Tue 17th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Autumn break - Rating 4/5

Friendly & helpful staff with good food

Reviewer:Brian N | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful find! - Rating 5/5

Booked this in the morning through a website. We arrived at the hotel and were made welcome immediately. The room was perfect and clean (they said 'small' when booking, but it was find for two people.We went for a walk that evening and returned to the hotel for dinner as it seemed the most popular place.Great dinner and lovely breakfast :-)Absolutely would recommend this to anyone.Thanks for a lovely stay,Jo

Reviewer:Joanne R | Wed 28th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


THE WHITE LION MACHYNLLETH - Rating 4/5

An excellent two night stay. The room was clean and well appointed and the food good and plentiful. A bonus was the half dozen real ales from regional breweries. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

Reviewer:John S | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


chambretrop petite - Rating 4/5

portes bruyantes, reveiller par les autres visiteurs

Reviewer:Rene S | Mon 21st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfy, friendly and clean - Rating 5/5

Our room although small was comfortable, it was spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We both had a good nights sleep.We will stay again when we are in the area.

Reviewer:William H | Sun 20th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Convenient for Festival- Rating 5/5

i stay every year at the White Lion when attending a concert at the Machynlleth Festival.it is most conveniently located a short walk from the Tabernacle and I like hearing the sound of the Clock Tower bells from my room.The room was as always very comfortable and quiet and the bathroom opposite was very clean. I can warmly recommend the White Lion.

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm S | Sat 5th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


white lion - Rating 5/5

a good standard as always. food great friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.

Reviewer:Andrew L | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


PLEASANT STAY - Rating 4/5

Everything the traveller could want,disliked nothing.

Reviewer:Mark W | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Decent local place, very fast internet. - Rating 4/5

Service is very 'local', but food is good and internet is fast.Bathroom was across the hall, im not sure if there any en suite rooms. Forgot my phone charger and they helped to get it back.

Reviewer:Ms. Jamie H | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


nice town, nice hotel. - Rating 5/5

And nice people.

Reviewer:Xiaoyu W | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Superb Overnightr Stay - Rating 5/5

Room was clean, well presented and very comfortable. A very good breakfast was served by delightfully helpful staff.Thank you White Lion its as you describe. just brilliant.

Reviewer:Mr. Lawrence B | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Good- Rating 4/5

Good accomodation in the town center but quiet. Very nicestaff

Reviewer:Marta R | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


West Wales Weekend - Rating 4/5

The White Lion makes an ideal base from which to explore this scenic region close to the sea and mountains, and handy for public transport. The accommodation is cosy but allowances need to be made for the age of the building if expecting a more modern design and layout. Good breakfast options while evening dining is very popular here with locals and visitors. There is a great range of ales as well as other drinks. The staff are friendly and helpful while the town itself is charming with several places of interest and a few other pubs to visit.

Reviewer:Chris G | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Summer break - Rating 4/5

Great room , great food , friendly staff would recommend and stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Robert J | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly, inviting and cofortable - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the White Lion as we were working in the town. Even though we had long late shifts the hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. I'd definitely consider staying there again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert U | Wed 5th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Personal touch - Rating 4/5

Loved the personal touches in our room - didn't feel like an hotel room.Friendly staff.

Reviewer:Pam H | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


One night\'s stay - Rating 4/5

Room very comfortable

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret P | Mon 13th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


WHITE LION HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Brilliant three day stay.Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere,I would gladly book again.

Reviewer:JOHN H | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A great friendly place - Rating 5/5

The White Lion is a great friendly hotel, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was amazing.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael J | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Our charity cycle ride - Rating 5/5

Greeted by friendly staff on our arrival, super atmosphereGreat food menu and great prices.

Reviewer:Mr. Jason w | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 3/5

A great stay here at the White Lion. We arrived to a friendly, busy atmosphere at the bar at lunch time. Dewi checked us in, very professional and friendly. The food smelt fab! We were pleasantly surprised with our modern, cosy hotel room. Felt very much like home. Very comfortable bed. The maid Alison stopped us in the corridor to and from breakfast to check everything was okay with our room, and asked if we needed any extra toilet rolls or towels!Breakfast was great - traditional, but something for everyone.We will definitely be returning. Thank you!

Reviewer:Miss. Cerys W | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, good food and a clean and comfortable room. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Lisa P | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect atmosphere and location - Rating 5/5

Right in the middle of Machynlleth - a very good, traditional British pub. The food (both evening and breakfast) were excellent.The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful - especially with helping us to store our bikes securely.The room was nicely presented - and everything in the room worked and was 100% clean/fresh.Plenty of tea and coffee (+ biscuits) in the room.We would definitely recommend/stay again.The relaxed but animated atmosphere suited us MUCH better than a traditional B+B in someone's house.

Reviewer:Christopher R | Tue 19th May 2015 | 3 years ago


one night stay - Rating 4/5

very friendly and helpful staff. Dried out all our wet cycling gear for us and found a safe place to store my Bike. very nice mushrooms for breakfastThanks

Reviewer:Ms. Jennifer E | Tue 12th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great place for a stop-over - Rating 4/5

Lovely small hotel, ideal for the Railway Station and lovely food and beer as well.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert H | Tue 28th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic pub & the family room we stayed in was lovely.

Reviewer:Michael M | Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Great service - Rating 4/5

Was a great little place to stay and the service more than excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Ashley C | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Really enjoyable - Rating 5/5

Had room 10 big big room overlooking the front bathroom shower was exceptionally good all round 10/10 unless you have trouble with stairs as there is quite a few. Breakfast was plenty full and local but i didn't like the filter coffee same as a couple of other guests that i over heard.All the staff was cheerful and happy to help you all in all i would definatly stay there again 10/10

Reviewer:Gareth E | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Thank you for a special stay - Rating 4/5

What a lovely, welcoming stay. Good food and a lot of love for our terrier Toto, who also enjoyed himself.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Naomi S | Wed 1st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Great food and clean room - Rating 5/5

Clean room with all amenities required, great food and friendly staff made for a very comfortable stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony D | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Superb hospitality in the middle of Town! - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming hotel in a traditional setting in a heart of Machynlleth. The room has been recently refurbished with excellent quality and taste.The hotel is comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean and the ample breakfast kept me going all day!

Reviewer:Richard S | Thu 19th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


A friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Traditional architecture,friendly environment,cozy rooms.In a picturesque town with good transport connecting surrounding towns and villages.Thanks for the wonderfull stay!

Reviewer:Maria P | Fri 9th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Nice people and good atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Tue 23rd Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the White Lion for one night since we had to visit Machynlleth at short notice and we are glad we did. I always consider what I paid for a room when leaving any review and in this case we got a superb deal with B and B for less than £50 between us. The en-suite room was exceptionally clean and well decorated with a comfortable bed and tv and our dog was made very welcome. We stayed in the hotel to eat, the bar and restaurant were obviously very popular and the food was very good value. We thought the White Lion's staff were amongst its best features- they were all exceptionally friendly and efficient and we will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

Reviewer:Carol F | Sun 30th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


One night - Rating 4/5

Usual good food and beer, never had a bad one of either yet. Staff always helpful and happy. Will keep on staying here!!

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Sat 15th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


A fantastic stay at the white lion hotel - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely few days stay with my daughter.The hotel was lovely everything was clean and fresh, the hotel staff are friendly and very helpful food in the restaurant was lovely I will defiantly recommend the hotel to my friends

Reviewer:Deborah H | Fri 7th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


A good base in mid Wales - Rating 3/5

We just spent one night at the White Lion and were travelling with a dog.Meal portions were generous (I can recommend the gammon steak) and breakfast was good too.

Reviewer:Norman S | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


white Lion Machynlleth - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable room, bathroom really fresh and modern. Staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfast good. Live music an unexpected bonus! More choice of bar food would be an improvement but all the basic classics were there.

Reviewer:Linda B | Sun 28th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Pleasant stay. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a long weekend as we were at a wedding in nearby Corris.Nice clean room, welcoming atmosphere, and the food in the pub was excellent, both the included breakfast, and evening meals. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Richard M | Mon 15th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

lovely friendly staffvery comfortable roommade to feel very welcomegreat breakfast

Reviewer:Michael F | Sun 14th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Technical advisor, United Nations - Rating 4/5

Nice and friendly hotel with a lot of charm. I would certainly stay at your hotel again. Only drawback is the late breakfast. Today I left at 7 and it was not possible to have a breakfast. Brgds Finn Lundorf, Denmark

Reviewer:Finn Lundorf P | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

A great place to stay with no fuss and very friendly staff. Historic welsh town, traditional busy pub and clean rooms - just what we needed

Reviewer:Tim R | Sun 7th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Exactly where I needed to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in a room with a friend and her 2-year-old. We gota large cozy room. I could hear a bit of chattering downstairs since the place is a pub/hotel but it was nothing uncomfortable. The staff was homespun-exceptional.

Reviewer:Gloria H | Mon 1st Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Great location for great price. Room was small as described but very clean and perfect for us. Hearty breakfast with the biggest sausage sandwiches! Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill B | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Visit - Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Stephen T | Tue 19th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


very good- Rating 5/5

Comfortable, clean room with a good breakfast. Friendly staff and good food.

Reviewer:Dr. Stephen W | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


A thoroughly great stay - Rating 5/5

We booked at short notice butthe White Lion was perfect for our needs. We booked a family room which gave us room for three with an en suite.The room was ideal, the staff were superb, the food is excellent and the beer was great too. All round this was a great place to stay and ideal for staying both in town and travelling further afield.

Reviewer:Nick M | Sat 9th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Top notch - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Clean room, comfy bed, ultra helpful staff, enormous amounts of good food, dinner and breakfast. Great view of the hills from the beer garden and even from my room. Ace.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter D | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Times - Rating 5/5

Everybody seemed to genuinely attempt to make the stay as personable as possible. Exemplary attitude to a relaxed stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph P | Wed 16th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the White Lion. It is easy to find and there is plenty of parking. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was freshly prepared and good. We had to leave early in the morning and the staff were happy to give us a very good breakfast an hour earlier than the official time.The beer is well kept and there was a variety of real ales available. We would happily have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Rachel B | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Comfy & Clean Room - Rating 3/5

Just returned from staying at White Lion Hotel, my 1st stay there. I stayed in room 10 which was modern, comfy & clean. Had an evening meal & breakfast, both were nice & good value, would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ceri Morgan| Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Place with Friendly, Helpful Staff - Rating 4/5

Had a great couple of nights here. Everybody was extremely friendly and welcoming, the rooms immaculate although in need of a bit of modernisation. Breakfast superb. Would definitely come back if I were staying in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas H | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Great service friendly staffnice clean modern rooms

Reviewer:Alex R | Sun 22nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Great clean quiet room in interesting town - Rating 4/5

Staff, location, food, price were all great.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig S | Wed 11th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Wedding trip - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, good food, very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Bird watching - Rating 4/5

Good service and very freindly and a good price and a very nice area

Reviewer:Mr. Michael R | Thu 5th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Very good value for £25 per night.Friendly, Clean and a good breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Carey K | Sun 18th May 2014 | 4 years ago


White lion is fantastic - Rating 5/5

what a great place to stay.loved my littleroom at the end of the hall. great staff and the bar had a real neighborhood feel to it. Would love to stay again.

Reviewer:Ms. Larissa W | Mon 5th May 2014 | 4 years ago


The White Lion Hotel. - Rating 4/5

There is a warm, friendly atmosphere at the White Lion. Clean, comfortable rooms, plenty of hot water and a good breakfast and dinner menue. An all around nice place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Dermot C | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Great- Rating 5/5

Our stay at The White Lion Hotel was great. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and homely. The bathrooms are clean and comfortable and the shower is relaxing! Breakfast choice is fantastic and breakfast itself was delicious. The staff are very helpful for any queries and are very nice and ask about your stay when you are leaving. Overall I would give the hotel and service 5 stars

Reviewer:Miss. Samantha D | Sun 6th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

The staff at the hotel were so welcoming from start to finish as were the locals at the bar. Fine home cooked food made this a good old fashioned hotel experience.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew J | Wed 2nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


All good! - Rating 5/5

What's there not to like about the White Lion?Excellent range of real ales (unusual for Wales!), good food, comfortable room, good breakfast, good service.Very happy with my stay there!

Reviewer:Mr. Caburn C | Thu 27th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

We couldnt fault the hotel at all.We took our dog with us and she was made welcome and was really well behaved.The breakfast was perfect, couldnt have been better, we look forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mrs. JenniferH | Tue 12th Nov 2013 | 5 years ago


one night - Rating 3/5

very friendly. with a big breakfast. clean and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Sun 13th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Welcoming... - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay at The White Lion, thank you. The bar areas have been excellently refurbished, and we are comfortable at all times in the hotel. Food was good and very reasonably-priced, and in the well-stocked bar there were three good quality real ales for the 'purists'. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We would definitely consider a return visit if in the area again!

Reviewer:Mr. Al L | Wed 11th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Croeso yn Gymraeg. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable stay thank you, as last time, but nice new modern bathroom.Very good breakfast. Thanks for e-mail in Welsh. Using my language is important to me, and some staff spoke Welsh. Diolch iddynt am y croeso!

Reviewer:Mrs. Miriam C | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Very helpful - Rating 5/5

Very helpful in organising bike storage and an early breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel G | Sun 2nd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays